Old Testament Book Studies

The BNEXT Old Testament Book Studies are the most detailed of the BNEXT studies. These studies focus in on one book of the Old Testament over a number of lessons/weeks, presenting historical contexts, profiling key characters, and developing theological themes.

Showing all 4 results

  • festivals

    Celebrating God – Festivals in Focus

    5 Week Series

    In the Hebrew mind, the feasts and festivals were above all appointments to honor and celebrate God. He set appointments in the busy regimen of His people’s lives — appointments they would be expected to keep. These special feasts would be a bit like our holidays. They were “holy days” set aside for personal refreshment and restoration through spiritual focus on the person and purpose of God.

    1. The Passover & Unleavened Bread: Exodus 12
    2. First Fruits & Feast of Weeks: Leviticus 23:10-11
    3. Trumpets & Atonement: Leviticus 23:23-25
    4. Tabernacles & Sacred Assemblies: Leviticus 23:33-43
    5. The Year of Jubilee: Leviticus 25:8-9

  • ten

    The Ten Commandments – Exodus 20

    10 Week Series

    The Ten Commandments are unique in their context and content. Regarding context: the commandments are from the Almighty God. Civilizations, ancient or modern, primitive or sophisticated, have always established rules of conduct. Taboos concerning stealing, murder, and adultery are essential for even primitive societies to maintain order. The Ten Commandments are of a higher order. Rather than being shaped by civilizations, they have shaped civilizations from the time of Moses.

    1. The One and Only: Exodus 20:3
    2. No Idols Allowed: Exodus 20:4-6
    3. What’s in a Name: Exodus 20:7
    4. Rested or Restless: Exodus 20:8-11
    5. Positions of Honor: Exodus 20:12
    6. A Matter of Life and Death: Exodus 20:13
    7. Fatal Distraction: Exodus 20:1
    8. Who’s Robbing Whom: Exodus 20:15
    9. Truth or Consequences: Exodus 20:16
    10. Need or Greed: Exodus 20:17

  • building

    Nehemiah – Building Together

    8 Week Series

    Nehemiah, a great man of prayer, led the Israelites into a respect and passion for God’s word. With his great love for God and his desire to see God honored in all things, he led the Israelites towards the faith and obedience God had asked of them for so long. And in spite of great opposition and accusations, Nehemiah led his people to rebuild the wall and, even more, saw God’s enemies silenced.

    1. Nehemiah’s Prayer: Nehemiah 1
    2. Nehemiah’s Patience and Plan: Nehemiah 2
    3. Teamwork and Talents: Nehemiah 3
    4. Mission Impossible: Nehemiah 4
    5. Building Character:Not Just Walls: Nehemiah 5
    6. Dealing with Difficult People: Nehemiah 6
    7. Time for a Little ‘R & R’: Nehemiah 8
    8. The Rest of the Story: Nehemiah 9-11

  • daniel

    Daniel: Man of Prayer

    4 Week Series

    Mention the name Daniel to any child or adult and immediately “Daniel and the Lion’s Den” comes to mind. The book of Daniel is filled with the faithfulness of a few who totally depended upon the sovereignty of God in the midst of hopeless, helpless, and impossible situations. When others might question “Where is God?”, Daniel constantly guides us to “Take it to the Lord in prayer.”

    1. Take it to The Lord in Prayer: Daniel 1
    2. Grace for the Humble: Daniel 4
    3. Kept from the Lions: Daniel 6
    4. A Life of Prayer: Daniel 9